Home » Mizoram Election Results 2023 Unveil a Tense Political Landscape

Mizoram Election Results 2023 Unveil a Tense Political Landscape

by admin

The Mizoram assembly election results for 2023 are pouring in, and the political theater is unfolding with high stakes. In a closely watched battle, key players such as the Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), Congress, and BJP are vying for supremacy in the 40 assembly seats. The competition intensifies as the ruling MNF, led by Chief Minister Zoramthanga, faces a formidable challenge from former IPS officer Lalduhoma’s ZPM.

The exit polls have set the stage for a riveting showdown between these regional heavyweights, indicating a neck-and-neck fight. While some predictions favor the ruling MNF, projecting an advantage, others foresee a victory for ZPM. The possibility of a hung assembly adds an extra layer of suspense to this unfolding political drama.

MNF, ZPM, and Congress contested all 40 assembly seats, with BJP in the fray for 23 constituencies. The election, held on November 7, saw a significant voter turnout of 80.43 percent, reflecting the electorate’s keen interest in shaping the state’s political landscape.

Originally slated for December 3, the counting day was rescheduled to December 4 based on requests from various quarters in Mizoram. Chief Electoral Officer Madhup Vyas cited the significance of Sunday being devoted to church duties and prayers as a key factor behind the rescheduling.

As of the latest updates on December 4, 2023, ZPM appears poised to form the government, having secured one assembly seat and leading in 25 constituencies, comfortably surpassing the halfway mark of 20. The ruling MNF trails with leads in 10 seats, while BJP and Congress show a modest performance with leads in three and one seatrespectively.

A closer look at the live results reveals significant leads for ZPM candidates, including Lalduhoma in Serchhip, Jeje Lalpekhlua in South Tuipui, Prof. Lalnilawma in Tawi, W Chhuanawma in Tuichang, P.C. Vanlalruata in Tuikum, and Laltlanmawia in Tuirial. Notably, Lalduhoma, the chief ministerial face of ZPM, is leading in Serchhip by 1390 votes after two rounds of counting.

Stay tuned for live updates, insightful analysis, and in-depth coverage as Mizoram’s electoral process unfolds, revealing the winners, trends, and potential surprises that will shape the state’s political landscape. The journey has just begun.

You May Like to Read About Property in Delhi


You may also like

Our Company

Finance, Home & Garden, Business & Industrial, Health, Internet & Telecom, Real Estate, Travel, Shopping, Technology


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

@2024 – All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed by TEQTS